American Numismatic Society 2016 Annual Gala Jan. 7

Regina and John W. Adams

Regina and John W. Adams

On Thursday, January 7, 2016 the American Numismatic Society (ANS) will honor dedicated benefactors Regina and John W. Adams with the Trustees’ Award during the Annual Gala Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Mr. Adams, founder of investment bank Adams, Harkness & Hill in Boston and a prolific numismatic researcher, writer, and editor, has been an active member of the Society for decades serving in a variety of leadership capacities.

The Society will also present Kenneth E. Bressett, best known as the longtime editor of A Guide Book of United States Coins (“The Red Book”) and past president of the American Numismatic Association (ANA), with the Distinguished Service Award, which is given in recognition of outstanding contributions by an ANS volunteer or member. The 2015 Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing, presented usually at the ANA’s World Fair of Money, is being presented to Dr. Ursula Kampmann of MünzenWoche (“CoinsWeekly”).

This year, the Society expects over 200 guests at the Gala Dinner and hopes to raise over $180,000 to further the Society’s mission of supporting research and education in numismatics. Proceeds are generated through ticket sales, program advertisements, sponsorships, contributions, and proceeds from a live auction.

View Sponsorship, Ticket and Program information

John W. Adams joined the Society more than 40 years ago and is an Honorary Trustee, Fellow, and Augustus B. Sage Society member. He served on the Board of Trustees, was a member of the Huntington Medal Award and Finance Committees, and was the Chairman of the Library Committee. In 2014 Mr. Adams received the Archer M. Huntington Award for his outstanding career contributions to numismatic scholarship – making him the only recipient in ANS history to receive both the Huntington and Trustees’ Awards. Both he and his wife Regina have shown exemplary devotion and commitment to the ANS, and the Society is delighted to acknowledge their remarkable generosity.

Mr. Adams earned a B.A. from Princeton and M.B.A. from Harvard. He served as a Trustee of the Massachusetts Historical Society, President of the Numismatic Bibliomania Society and the Medal Collectors of America and is a Fellow of the American Antiquarian Society. His primary focus is American and European medals, numismatic literature, and large cents. He has also been the editor of The MCA Advisory.

Life member and Fellow Kenneth E. Bressett joined the ANS in 1954 and served on the Society’s Far Eastern Standing Committee from 1976 to 1979. Mr. Bressett has promoted numismatics as a study and a hobby for over 50 years, having published many works on topics ranging from ancient coins to paper money to English and United States coins. Among his many awards and accolades, he was appointed to the U.S. Assay Commission by President Lyndon Johnson in 1966 and became a member of the Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee [sic] in 1996. Mr. Bressett is only the third recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, preceded by the late Life Fellow Richard Witschonke and Life Fellow Frederic G. Withington.

Dr. Ursula Kampmann, an ANS Fellow, is the first European to be given the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award, which is sponsored by F&W Publications.

Photographs from the event will be available on Friday, January 8, 2016 by request. For information on purchasing tickets or program advertisements, please contact Catherine DiTuri at (212) 571-4470, ext. 117, [email protected], or visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.