HomeClubs & OrganizationsANA Literary Awards Announced at 2015 World's Fair of Money

ANA Literary Awards Announced at 2015 World’s Fair of Money

The ANA’s 2015 Literary Awards — recognizing articles published in the 2014 volume of the ANA’s official magazine, The Numismatist — were presented August 13 at the 2015 ANA World’s Fair of Money in Rosemont, Illinois. The Numismatist was first published by ANA founder and inaugural editor Dr. George F. Heath in 1888.

The Heath Literary Awards

ANA Heath Literary Award medal

Introduced in 1949, the Heath Literary Award acknowledges outstanding articles. First place was awarded to Eric P. Newman and Maureen Levine for their July 2014 article, “18th-Century Writings on the Continental Currency Dollar Coin.” The ground-breaking study shows that contemporary documents predate the publication once thought to be the earliest description of the iconic American issue. Newman and Levine received $250 and an engraved nickel-silver medal designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki.

John Nebel took second place for his feature article, “The Celator as Artist,” published in the August 2014 edition. His article explained the inspiring designs of 10 noteworthy Greek coins.

R.W. Julian received third place for “The 1841-O Half Eagle,” published in the July 2014 issue, in which he explains how records indicate this gold piece was not produced by the New Orleans Mint.

George Kolbe received honorable mention for “The Tale of the Tape,” published in January 2014. His article described how endorsements and personalities complicated the publication of one of the hobby’s most respected references.

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award was endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford, Jr. It is presented for articles in The Numismatist that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics.

First place was won by Eric P. Newman and Maureen Levine for their July 2014 article “18th-Century Writings on the Continental Currency Dollar Coin.” They received a $400 award.

R.W. Julian was awarded second place and $200 for “Notes on 19th-Century Silver Dollars,” published December 2014, in which he challenges the myths and unsubstantiated facts behind these coins.

Donald G. Tritt received third place for “Die-Pressed Wooden Medals and Plaques of the 1876 Centennial Exposition,” published in July 2014. The article spotlighted the numerous round and rectangular specimens issued to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence.

The Catherine Sheehan Literary Award

The Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies was presented to Andrew Hurle for “Abstractions of Value,” published in September 2014, which detailed the ornamental art engraved in the 1800s by geometric lathes and used on paper money and other financial instruments.

All feature articles published in The Numismatist are considered for ANA Literary Awards. For information about submitting manuscripts for review, e-mail Editor Barbara Gregory at [email protected].

American Numismatic Association
American Numismatic Associationhttps://www.money.org
The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs, to include its museum, library, publications, conventions and webinars.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Great Collection Coin Auctions

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

NGCX Holders and Grading