(Rosemont, Illinois) — The Professional Numismatists Guild (www.PNGdealers.com) announced winners of the organization’s 2011 awards at the PNG Day summer banquet, August 15, 2011, on the eve of the American Numismatic Association World’s Fair of MoneySM in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Illinois.

“These prestigious, annual awards formally recognize achievements in various areas of the hobby and profession,” said Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director.

PNG Immediate Past President Paul Montgomery happily accepts the Abe Kosoff Founders Award at the PNG Day Chicago banquet, August 15, 2011. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

PNG Immediate Past President and current board member, Paul Montgomery, received the Abe Kosoff Founders Award. The Kosoff Award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization, and is presented to a PNG member-dealer who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year.

Brothers Charles and Joel Anderson jointly received the Significant Contribution Award for their exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of PNG, the profession and the hobby. The Anderson’s family business, founded by their grandfather in 1917 as a small newsstand in Alabama, has grown to include Whitman Publishing, publisher of A Guide Book of United States Coins (the “Red Book”). The company also hosts the Whitman Coin and Collectibles Expos in Baltimore, Philadelphia, Nashville and Atlanta.

The Art Kagin Ambassador Award was given to public relations executive and long-time collector Donn Pearlman. The Kagin Award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill.

PNG member Kevin Lipton (right) playfully kisses John N. Rowe III after giving Rowe a plaque marking his 50 years as a PNG member-dealer. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

John N. Rowe III of Dallas, Texas was honored at the banquet for his 50 years of PNG membership. Six other PNG member-dealers were recognized for each attaining 25 years of membership: Jan Olav Aamlid of Chonburi, Thailand; Tom Denly of Boston, Massachusetts; Bruce Kutcher of Nahant, Massachusetts; John Maben of Sarasota, Florida; Richard Joseph Schwary of Inglewood, California; and Kurt Spanier of Madrid, Spain.

The Robert Friedberg Award, presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature, was given to David Thomason Alexander for American Art Medals, 1909 – 1995, published by the American Numismatic Society. The Friedberg Award is named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, and is not automatically given each year; only when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients.

In Other PNG News………..

PNG Board Selects 2011 – 2013 Officers

Jeffrey F. Bernberg of Rare Coin Company of America, Willowbrook, Illinois, has been selected to serve as President of the Professional Numismatists Guild for the 2011 – 2013 term.

Other officers selected by the PNG Board are Vice President Terry Hanlon of Dillon Gage Metals Division, Addison, TX; Secretary Dana S. Samuelson of American Gold Exchange, Austin, TX, and Treasurer Fred Weinberg of Fred Weinberg & Company, Encino, CA.

“Under PNG Bylaws, member-dealers of the organization elect the board members at large, and then the elected board members select the officers from within their group.  During their August 12 meeting, the nine-member Board chose the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer,” explained Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director.

Other members of the 2011 – 2013 Board are Mitchell A Battino of Hudson Rare Coins, Princeton, NJ; James A. Simek of Numisgraphic Enterprises, Westchester, IL; Barry S. Stuppler of Barry Stuppler & Company, Woodland Hills, CA; and Richard A. Weaver of Delaware Valley Rare Coin, Broomhall, PA.

Current President Paul Montgomery of American Precious Metals Exchange, Oklahoma City, OK, automatically continues as a member of the Board for the next two years.

The Professional Numismatists Guild is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise. For additional information about the awards for the PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590. Phone: (951-587-8300. Email: info@PNGdealers.com. Online: www.PNGdealers.com.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.