Notable Numismatists Honored with ANA Service Awards


Recipients recognized at Chicago World’s Fair of Money Awards Banquet

The following 10 individuals and organization are being recognized for their contributions to the hobby and the American Numismatic Association (ANA). Recipients of the ANA’s 2015 Service Awards will be formally recognized at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money, held at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Illinois, Aug. 11-15.

The Medal of Merit is presented to honor individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the Association and promotion of the hobby.

  • Tony Swicer served 15 years as an ANA District Representative and five years as an ANA Regional Coordinator.
  • Carl Wolf has chaired the Ambassador Committee at the World’s Fair of Money for the past four years, and continuously works to recruit new members to the Association.

The Glenn Smedley Memorial Award was created in memory of Glenn B. Smedley to recognize individuals who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA.

  • Mitchell Ernst serves as an ANA National Volunteer, an ANA District Representative and an ANA District Coordinator.
  • Jay Galst is author of Ophthalmologia Optica et Visio in Nummis. He is a dedicated columnist for many numismatic publications and an exhibit judge.
  • Brett Irick serves as an ANA District Representative for Michigan and Ontario; an exhibits judge; and a Money Talks presenter. He was instrumental in coordinating the ANA/RNA “Hands Across the Border” program.
  • David McCarthy has been a Summer Seminar instructor since 2011. He was the head promoter of the Saddle Ridge Hoard and writes columns for The Numismatist.
  • Dany Rothfeld is an exhibitor and exhibit judge, Money Talks presenter and a regular contributor to The Numismatist and The MichMatrist.

The Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award is named in honor of Lt. Col. (Ret.) and ANA Past President Adna G. Wilde Jr. and is awarded to an ANA member who dedicates his or her time and resources to strengthen the hobby, further the educational mission of the ANA and set an example for others to follow.

  • Mark Lighterman has served as a dedicated National ANA Volunteer for 12 years, is the National Exhibits Coordinator, and is currently serving as the Board of Governors Parliamentarian.

The Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture honors an artist whose cumulative lifetime achievements in the field of medallic sculpture has been of the highest order.

  • Angelo Grilli is a world-renowned artist who created the medal to commemorate the celebration of the Year of the Faith, a Catholic tradition.

The Exemplary Service Award recognizes an individual or entity (club, corporation, firm or association) that has performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

  • The Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association’s (PNNA) mission is to connect collectors and promote the hobby within the Pacific Northwest. PNNA has been sponsoring ANA Summer Seminar Scholarships for both adults and Young Numismatists since 1998, actively participates in the ANA’s National Coin Week, and supports the ANA’s conventions by providing national convention volunteers and sponsorships.

Read more about this year’s award recipients in the August and September issue of The Numismatist. Look for more information about the Glenn Smedley Memorial Award recipients in the September issue.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.