Royal Mint 2017 Year of the Rooster
The Shēngxiào Collection returns – THE YEAR OF THE ROOSTER

The Royal Mint’s Shēngxiao Collection fuses craftsmanship and heritage with the United Kingdom’s multi-cultural communities and traditions. The Lunar Year of the Rooster 2017 bullion coins are the latest in The Royal Mint’s Shēngxiào Collection. Combining centuries of Chinese tradition with British minting craftsmanship, the coins celebrate the 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac, each with their own unique characteristics and qualities.

The Year of the Rooster coin joins its predecessors, the Year of the Horse, the Year of the Sheep and the Year of the Monkey.

Crowing confidently and taking center stage, it’s the Rooster’s turn in the spotlight as we release the latest coin in the series. In her design for this year’s coin, artist Wuon-Geon Ho has depicted a single Marsh Daisy rooster crowing to welcome the dawn, along with the flowers that share the same name. There are 10 Marsh Daisies featured, as in Chinese culture the number 10 is believed to symbolize perfection and as the rooster is also the 10th animal in the zodiac cycle, this year promises to bring extra luck and prosperity.

These one ounce coins are struck in 999.9 fine gold and 999 fine silver, finished to bullion standard.

Following the success of the coins struck in the Year of the Monkey, this eagerly anticipated coin is presented in strictly limited mintages.

These coins are available to purchase now

Directly from APMEX


Royal Mint Bullion Currently Available on eBay



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.