What Not Online Auctions

HomeClubs & OrganizationsAmerican Numismatic AssociationYoung Numismatists 2016 ANA Literary Award Winners Announced

Young Numismatists 2016 ANA Literary Award Winners Announced

young numismatists

Young Numismatists  2016 competition!

Each year the American Numismatic Association (ANA) recognizes young writers through the Young Numismatists Literary Awards, funded by Whitman Publishing. Awards of up to US$1,000 are given in three age groups named after Whitman authors and longtime hobby leaders Bill Fivaz (entrants aged 8–12), Q. David Bowers (ages 13–17), and Kenneth Bressett (ages 18–22).

First-place winners receive a $500 cash prize and a $500 voucher to build a personal library of numismatic books from Whitman Publishing. Second place receives a certificate and a book voucher for $200. Third place receives a certificate and a $100 book voucher.

“Numismatics is a rich field for anyone interested in research and writing, uncovering long-forgotten facts, diving into history, studying art and science, solving mysteries, and exploring the world,” said Whitman publisher Dennis Tucker. “Today’s young writers might be the next generation of numismatic authors, and we’re pleased to encourage them.”

Congratulations to the following Young Numismatists for their winning articles in the 2016 competition!

FIVAZ AWARD (ages 8–12)

  • 1st: Kelly Barker of Delaware, for “That’s Odd”—a reflection on half cents, two-cent pieces, and other odd coin denominations.
  • 2nd: Alexander Mous of Washington, for “Progressive Times in Japan”, a study of Japanese money in the era of the samurai.
  • 3rd: Kellen Hoard of Washington, for “5 Steps to Encourage Children to Become Numismatists”—a formula for adding more young collectors to the hobby’s ranks.

BOWERS AWARD (ages 13–17)

  • 1st: Benjamin Mous of Washington, for “The Tale of Two Islands”—an illustrated comparison of the coinages of Lundy and Jersey.
  • 2nd: Calvin Pineda of Idaho, for “Joseph A. Bailly: The Mint’s Mystery Man”—a biography of an obscure and unsung U.S. Mint coin designer.
  • 3rd: Kenny Sammut of Pennsylvania, for “U.S. Minted Coins: Not Just for Americans”—a look at coins produced by the U.S. Mint for other countries.

BRESSETT AWARD (ages 18–22)

  • 1st: Daniel Williams of Georgia, for “America’s Little Brother”—a study of the coins, in particular patterns, of Liberia, and their American influences.
  • 2nd: Thomas Walker of Georgia, for “The Oft-Misunderstood Ant-Nose Coinage of Ancient China”—an exploration of these ancient coins and their types.
  • 3rd: (no entry)


NGC Certified Silver Eagles Currently Available on eBay


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.