Australia 2015 Western Australia 5 Dollar Silver Coin


Western Australia is Australia’s largest state, covering an area of more than 2.5 million square kilometers. Notable cities include Albany, Broome, Esperance, Kalgoorlie, Margaret River, and Perth (home of the Perth Mint). English colonization of Western Australia began in 1829. From 1850-1868, it functioned as a penal colony. The discovery of gold in 1890 set the table for self-governance in the territory. Its first Parliament consisted of 30 elected members and a 15-member Legislative Council.

The Royal Australian Mint has struck a five-dollar proof coin to commemorate 125 years of Western Australia’s state government.



Ian Rank-Broadley’s classic effigy of Queen Elizabeth II. Rank-Bradley’s initials IRB are located just beneath the bust truncation.  Wrapping around the coin, just inside of the rim, are the inscriptions ELIZABETH II and AUSTRALIA 2015.


The continent of Australia as it becomes the country of Australia. Five different illustrations of the continent, the largest one is in the foreground and depicts each of the modern states of Australia. On the left, the state of Western Australia is depicted with repeating text that reads WESTERN AUSTRALIA. Wrapping around the rim is the inscription 125 YEARS OF STATE GOVERNMENT. In the exergue is the denomination 5 DOLLARS.

Designer(s): Ian Rank-Broadley’s effigy of Queen Elizabeth II has appeared on coins from the UK and the Commonwealth since 1999. View Designers Profile.

Coin Specifications:

Country:  Australia
Year Of Issue:  2015
Denomination:  5 Dollars
Mint Mark:
Mintage:  12,500
Alloy:  .9999 Silver
Weight:  36.31 grams
Diameter:  38.74 mm
OBV Designer  Ian Rank-Broadley
REV Designer


Keep up with all the latest coin releases from the world mints by clicking on CoinWeek’s World Coin Profiles Page.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.