PCGS Specials

HomePeoplePeyton Souder named Outstanding Young Numismatist of the Year

Peyton Souder named Outstanding Young Numismatist of the Year

Fogg, Roach, young writers also honored at ANA Summer Seminar

Peyton Souder was named the Outstanding Young Numismatist of the Year during the American Numismatic Association’s Summer Seminar Graduation Banquet for Session 1 on Wednesday, June 25.

Other members honored at the banquet include Clark Fogg, winner of the Glenn Smedley award; Steve Roach, who received an ANA Presidential Award for his service to the hobby; and the winners of the YN Literary Awards.

yn_peyton_souderSouder is a member of the Greater Jacksonville Coin Club, Florida United Numismatists and The Original Hobo Nickel Society. She has won multiple awards for exhibiting at various numismatic events in Florida, including the FUN Show. She is also a past recipient of the Greater Jacksonville Coin Club’s Paul O’Day Award for her volunteer service.

Souder has attended four straight Summer Seminars and was in charge of the first of two YN Auctions held this year at Summer Seminar. The auction raised $12,500 for the YN Fund. Additionally, another $1,500 was raised at the auction that was earmarked for the ANA’s new YN College Scholarship program, which will provide a graduating senior with a $1,000 scholarship to use toward the university, college or trade school of the winner’s choice.

Clark Fogg – Glenn Smedley Memorial Award

Clark Fogg was honored with the Glenn Smedley Memorial Award, which recognizes members who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA. Fogg, a nationally known forensics photographer with the Beverly Hills Police Department, has taught the Digital Numismatic Photography class at Summer Seminar since 2003.

Steve Roach – ANA Presidential Award

Steve Roach, the editor for Coin World magazine and a professional appraiser of rare coins and fine art, was recognized by ANA President Walter Ostromecki Jr. with a Presidential Award for his lifetime of achievements in numismatics. Roach is a Life Member of the ANA, a former YN of the Year, and an instructor at Summer Seminar.

Results of the YN Literary Awards were also announced at the banquet.

The list of winners includes:

Bill Fivaz Young Numismatist Literary Award for ages 8 to 12

  • First Place: Garrett Ziss for “History Within Their Signatures”
  • Second Place: Sam Forsythe for “The Private Minters of the California Gold Rush”
  • Third Place: Eric Niedzielski for “The Twenty-Cent Piece”

Q. David Bowers Young Numismatist Literary Award for ages 13 to 17

  • First Place: Tyler Rusnak for “Wreaths on Coins: Symbols of America”
  • Second Place: Mac Ryan for “The Boston Mint Party”
  • Third Place: Peyton Souder for “Toned Morgan Dollars”

Kenneth E. Bressett Young Numismatist Literary Award for ages 18 to 22

  • First Place: Ermin Chow for “Numismatic Treasures from the Fabled CC Mint”
  • Second Place: Matt Draiss for “Less Traveled Roads of the Mercury Dime”
  • Third Place: Cole Schenewerk for “Hadrian’s Travels”

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. The ANA helps its 25,500 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of education and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications, conventions and seminars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or go to www.money.org.

Coinweek is the top independent online media source for rare coin and currency news, with analysis and information contributed by leading experts across the numismatic spectrum.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PCGS Set Registry

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

Professional Coin Grading Service