ANA World's Fair of Money

HomeClubs & OrganizationsProfessional Numismatists Guild Presents Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeff Garrett

Professional Numismatists Guild Presents Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeff Garrett


New PNG President Dana Samuelson (left) and new PNG Vice President Barry Stuppler (right) presented the PNG’s 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award, to Jeff Garrett (center). (Photo by Donn Pearlman.)

The Professional Numismatists Guild ( has presented its 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeff C. Garrett of Mid-American Rare Coin Galleries in Louisville, Kentucky. An award-wining numismatic author, Garrett is a former PNG President and is the incoming President of the American Numismatic Association.

“Jeff’s excellent reference books, his dedication to the hobby and profession, and his efforts to help the Smithsonian continue to expand and exhibit the National Numismatic Collection make him the outstanding choice for this year’s award,” said Barry Stuppler, Co-Chair with Dana Samuelson of the PNG Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.

In presenting the award, Samuelson noted that Garrett started working as a coin dealer in his teens and now is in his fifth decade as a professional numismatist.

“He’s a generous individual with his time and expertise, who doesn’t qualify his altruism based on the size of the entity receiving it. He’s as happy helping his local Lexington, Kentucky coin club as he is assisting either the ANA or the Smithsonian,” Samuelson stated.

The award was presented at the annual PNG banquet held in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Illinois on August 10, 2015, the eve of the ANA World’s Fair of Money (

Here are other award categories and winners announced at the banquet:


The PNG’s highest honor, the 2015 Abe Kosoff Award, was presented to Steve Ivy (center) by PNG Immediate Past President Terry Hanlon (left) and PNG Board Member John Maben (right). (Photo by Donn Pearlman.)

Abe Kosoff Founders Award: Presented to Steve Ivy of Dallas, Texas, Co-Chairman and CEO of Heritage Auctions and a former PNG President (2003 – 2005).

The award is presented to a PNG member-dealer who has shown steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year. The Kosoff Award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization.

Sol Kaplan Award: Presented to Victor Bozarth of Bozarth Numismatics, Inc. of Brenham, Texas and Sarah Miller of Heritage Auctions, New York City, for their efforts that led to the arrest and subsequent guilty plea of a thief who stole coins at shows in several states.

The Kaplan Award is presented to individuals who have given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award, jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation, is named after a former PNG President who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes.

Significant Contribution Award: Given to Julian M. Leidman of Bonanza Coins in Silver Spring, Maryland for his exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of the PNG, the profession and the hobby.

Distinguished Service Award: Presented to Jeffrey F. Bernberg of Rare Coin Company of America in Willowbrook, Illinois for his 12 years of service on the PNG Board, including his term as President from 2011 – 2013.

Achievement in Excellence Award: Presented to Robert Korver of Heritage Auctions in Dallas, Texas. PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman announced this special award for Korver’s “countless hours championing the fight against import restrictions.”

Brueggeman added: “The PNG, its members and the numismatic community as a whole are in his debt.

This year, the PNG did not present either the Robert Friedberg Award for outstanding book or the Art Kagin Ambassador Award.

The PNG recognized John G. Hanson of Wellesley, Massachusetts for 50 years of PNG membership.

The following dealers were recognized for 25 years of PNG membership: Klaus J. Degler of Denver, Colorado; William Dominick of Tappan, New York; Stephen J. Gehringer of Allentown, Pennsylvania; Salvatore Germano of Hawthorne, New Jersey; Ed Grundy of Pueblo, Colorado; James Halperin of Dallas, Texas; Richard N. Nachbar of Williamsville, New York; Daniel N. Ratner of Rockville, Maryland; and affiliate member Paul R. Whitnah of Arlington, Texas.

The final presentation at the awards ceremony for Lifetime Membership was “one that the PNG does not often make,” explained Brueggeman. “In fact, we have only ever honored five members with this distinction.”

He announced that Lifetime Memberships now have been conferred on former PNG President (1985 – 1989) Leon Hendrickson of Winchester, Indiana; John Rowe III of Dallas, Texas; and former PNG President (1989 – 1991) Harvey G. Stack of New York City.

The Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise. For additional information about the awards for the PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590. Phone: (951) 587-8300. Email: [email protected]. Online:

Coinweek is the top independent online media source for rare coin and currency news, with analysis and information contributed by leading experts across the numismatic spectrum.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Park Avenue Numismatics Gold and Silver Bullion

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

Blanchard and Company Gold and Precious Metals