Stacks Bowers Long Beach Expo Auction

HomeClubs & OrganizationsPeter van Alfen Honored With ANA Burnett Anderson Memorial Award

Peter van Alfen Honored With ANA Burnett Anderson Memorial Award

Style and Substance Meet in Peter van Alfen’s Writings


The Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing is presented annually to a researcher, author or journalist in recognition of his or her body of work and career contributions in numismatics. First conferred posthumously to its namesake in 1999, at the American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) 108th Anniversary convention, the award is intended to recognize quality and integrity in numismatic wordsmithing of every kind.

This year’s recipient is economic historian and author Peter van Alfen. Presentation of the award took place at the American Numismatic Society’s (ANS) Annual Gala Dinner, held at the Harvard Club in New York City on January 16.

A scholar with wide-ranging interests, his research includes ancient Mediterranean and Near Eastern monetary, fiscal and trade systems spanning the Late Bronze Age to the early Byzantine period. He has published on a variety of topics, such as Mycenaean administration, Athenian public finance and coinage, market regulations, Arabian monetization and Late Roman amphoras.

His interests also extend to European and U.S. medallic art of the 15th to 21st centuries. While overseeing this portion of the ANS collection, he has curated exhibitions and published works about medals relating to the Olympics, World’s Fairs, ophthalmology, optics and World War I.

His current projects include PELLA, an online resource devoted to the coinage of the Argead kings of Macedonia; Art of Devastation, which he cowrote with Patricia Phagan; an online resource of World War I medallic art and a book on the political economy of archaic Greek coinage.

Van Alfen’s recent awards include membership in the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey, and a Loeb Classical Library Foundation Fellowship from Harvard University.

The Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing is sponsored by Krause Publications and an anonymous donor. The recipient is selected in a cooperative process by the ANA, the American Numismatic Society and the Numismatic Literary Guild (NLG).

* * *

American Numismatic Association
American Numismatic Association
The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs, to include its museum, library, publications, conventions and webinars.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stacks Bowers Auction

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

NGCX Holders and Grading