HomeClubs & OrganizationsSamuelson Elected PNG President, Other ICTA Members Honored

Samuelson Elected PNG President, Other ICTA Members Honored

By Industry Council for Tangible Assets….
American Gold Exchange president and long-time Industry Council for Tangible Assets (ICTA) member Dana Samuelson has been elected as the 2015–2017 president of the Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG).

dana_samualson_pngIn an August 24 press release from PNG, Samuelson said:

As president, I look forward to continuing the initiatives we’ve begun in the last several years, like the successful PNG internship program and PNG trade shows.

I also look forward to working with the new American Numismatic Association President Jeff Garrett, who is a PNG Past President (2005–2007), to strengthen the bond between our two organizations of collectors and dealers. And, of course, the PNG will continue to assist and work closely with the International Association of Professional Numismatists (IAPN) and the Industry Council for Tangible Assets (ICTA). As our profession’s lobbying group, ICTA keeps an eye on both state and national legislative issues that are important to buyers and sellers of rare coins and precious metals.”

Additionally, Jeff Garrett (Mid-American Rare Coin Galleries), a 31-year ICTA member, received the PNG 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award at their annual awards banquet on August 10, 2015.

“Jeff’s excellent reference books, his dedication to the hobby and profession, and his efforts to help the Smithsonian continue to expand and exhibit the National Numismatic Collection make him the outstanding choice for this year’s award,” said Barry Stuppler, co-chair (with Samuelson) of the PNG Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.

ICTA board member and Heritage Auctions co-chairman and CEO Steve Ivy received the PNG Abe Kosoff Founders Award. The award is presented to a PNG member-dealer who has shown steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general during the past year.

ICTA member Victor Bozarth (Bozarth Numismatics) was a co-recipient of the PNG Sol Kaplan Award for contributing efforts that led to the arrest and subsequent guilty plea of a thief who stole coins at shows in several states. The Kaplan Award is presented to individuals who have given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery.

ICTA member Jeffrey Bernberg (Rare Coin Company of America) was presented the PNG Distinguished Service Award for his 12 years of service on the PNG Board, including his term as president from 2011 to 2013.

Coinweek is the top independent online media source for rare coin and currency news, with analysis and information contributed by leading experts across the numismatic spectrum.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Park Avenue Numismatics Gold and Silver Bullion

L and C COIN New Coins

Heritage Auctions March 4th