What Not Online Auctions

HomeUS CoinsU.S. Mint to Launch Saratoga Quarter November 17

U.S. Mint to Launch Saratoga Quarter November 17


The United States Mint will join the National Park Service to launch the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program coin honoring Saratoga National Historical Park Tuesday, November 17, 9:30 a.m. Eastern Time (ET), at Schuylerville High School in Schuylerville, N.Y. United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program artist Barbara Fox, designer of the Saratoga National Historical Park quarter reverse (tails side), will be available for interviews before the ceremony. Invited guests include U.S. Senators Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand, and New York Governor Andrew Cuomo. The public will have the opportunity to exchange their cash for $10 rolls of newly minted Saratoga National Historical Park quarters after the event.

The event will be live streamed by WNYT-TV (Channel 13) and can be viewed at wnyt.com.


Saratoga National Historical Park Quarter Launch Ceremony and Coin Exchange


  • U.S. Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
  • U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
  • Governor Andrew Cuomo
  • Matt Scollin on behalf of U.S. Representative Elise Stefanik (R-NY21)
  • Saratoga National Historical Park Superintendent Amy Bracewell
  • Saratoga National Historical Park Ranger and Historian Eric Schnitzer
  • United States Mint Acting Quality Manager Ron Harrigal


9:30 a.m. ET, Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015


Schuylerville High School

14 Spring Street

Schuylerville, NY 12871

Coin Forum

The evening before the launch ceremony–Monday, November 16, 5–6 p.m. (ET)–the United States Mint will host a coin forum at the Saratoga Town Hall, 12 Spring Street, Schuylerville, NY 12871. The coin forum is an opportunity for the public to express their views about future coinage, and to learn about upcoming United States Mint coin programs and initiatives.

The Saratoga National Historical Park quarter is the 30th release in the United States Mint America the Beautiful Quarters® Program, a 12–year initiative to honor 56 national parks and other national sites authorized by Public Law 110–456. Each year, the public will see five new national sites depicted on the reverse (tails side) of the America the Beautiful Quarters. The United States Mint is issuing these quarters in the order in which the national sites were officially established.

About the United States Mint

usmintThe United States Mint was created by Congress in 1792 and became part of the Department of the Treasury in 1873. It is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The United States Mint’s numismatic programs are self-sustaining and operate at no cost to taxpayers.


Images of the Saratoga National Historical Park quarter are available at http://www.usmint.gov/pressroom/?action=photo#AmericaTheBeautiful.

Information about the Saratoga National Historical Park is available at http://www.nps.gov/sara/index.htm.

Information about the United States Mint and the America Beautiful Quarters Program is available at http://www.usmint.gov/about_the_mint/.

United States Mint
United States Minthttps://www.usmint.gov/
Since Congress created the United States Mint on April 2, 1792, the primary mission of the Mint is to produce an adequate volume of circulating coinage for the nation. As a self-funded agency, the United States Mint turns revenues beyond its operating expenses over to the General Fund of the Treasury. Other responsibilities include: Maintaining physical custody and protection of the Nation's $100 billion of U.S. gold and silver assets; Manufacturing and selling platinum, gold, and silver bullion coins; and Overseeing production facilities in Denver, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and West Point, as well as the U.S. Bullion Depository at Fort Knox, Kentucky.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bullion Sharks Silver

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

Doug Winter Numismatics Branch Mint Gold