HomeUS CoinsUnited States Mint Announces 2016 Presidential $1 Coins Designs

United States Mint Announces 2016 Presidential $1 Coins Designs

Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford dollar designs

The United States Mint today officially announced the designs that will appear on the 2016 Presidential $1 Coins honoring former Presidents Richard M. Nixon and Gerald R. Ford.

The coins’ obverses were designed and sculpted by the following talented United States Mint Sculptor-Engravers:

  • Richard M. Nixon
    • Obverse Designer and Sculptor: United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart
  • Gerald R. Ford
    • Obverse Designer and Sculptor: United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill

Inscriptions on the obverse of each coin include the president’s name, term in office, the order in which he served, and “IN GOD WE TRUST.”

The coins’ reverses feature a rendition of the Statue of Liberty, also designed and sculpted by Everhart. Inscriptions on the reverse are “$1” and “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.” The year of minting or issuance, the mint mark, and “E PLURIBUS UNUM” are incused on the edge of the coins.

Legislated by Public Law 109-145, the Presidential $1 Coin Program was limited to deceased presidents with the provision that there is at least a two-year period following the date of the death of the President before a coin can be issued. Hence, President Jimmy Carter, who is still living, is ineligible for a Presidential $1 Coin in 2016. President Reagan, the next president to serve after Carter, passed away in 2004 and is thus eligible to be commemorated under paragraph (2)(E).

Designs for the Ronald Reagan Presidential $1 Coin and the corresponding Nancy Reagan First Spouse Gold Coin will be announced on February 6, 2016, the 105th anniversary of President Reagan’s birth.

The release of the Ronald Reagan Presidential $1 Coin will mark the end of the program honoring our Nation’s presidents. Launched in 2007, the Presidential $1 Coin Program features coins with bold, dramatic portraits, unique edge-lettered inscriptions and a common reverse design of the iconic Statue of Liberty. Since the beginning of the program, the Mint has issued four coins annually in the order in which the presidents served in office, with three coins being released in 2016.

About the United States Mint

usmintThe United States Mint was created by Congress in 1792 and became part of the Department of the Treasury in 1873. It is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The United States Mint’s numismatic programs are self-sustaining and operate at no cost to taxpayers.


Images of the 2016 Presidential $1 Coins are available at http://www.usmint.gov/pressroom/?action=photo.

United States Mint
United States Minthttps://www.usmint.gov/
Since Congress created the United States Mint on April 2, 1792, the primary mission of the Mint is to produce an adequate volume of circulating coinage for the nation. As a self-funded agency, the United States Mint turns revenues beyond its operating expenses over to the General Fund of the Treasury. Other responsibilities include: Maintaining physical custody and protection of the Nation's $100 billion of U.S. gold and silver assets; Manufacturing and selling platinum, gold, and silver bullion coins; and Overseeing production facilities in Denver, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and West Point, as well as the U.S. Bullion Depository at Fort Knox, Kentucky.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bullion Sharks Silver

L and C COIN Specials

NGCX Holders and Grading