HomeClubs & OrganizationsANA Honors Notable Numismatists with Service Awards

ANA Honors Notable Numismatists with Service Awards


Recipients recognized at the World’s Fair of Money® Awards Banquet and Member Donor Reception

The following individuals were formally recognized for their contributions to the hobby and the American Numismatic Association (ANA) on August 12 during the Awards Banquet and August 11 during the Member Donor Reception at the Anaheim World’s Fair of Money.

The Adna G. Wilde, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence honors an ANA member who dedicates his or her time and resources to strengthen the hobby and further the educational mission of the ANA, and sets an example for others to follow.

  • Steven R. Roach of Cincinnati, Ohio, has authored hundreds of numismatic articles and his opinions on the rare-coin market have been sought by numerous publications, including The New York Times, Business Week, The Wall Street Journal and others. He served as Coin World’s editor-in-chief from 2012-2015. An expert on rare coins and medals, Roach maintains a secondary expertise in European and American paintings, sculpture, and works on paper.

The Exemplary Service Award recognizes an individual or entity (club, corporation, firm or association) that has performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

  • The Industry Council for Tangible Assets (ICTA) is the national trade association for precious-metal, rare-coin and currency dealers. Since 1983, ICTA has served as the voice of numismatics in Washington, D.C., protecting the hobby and working to prevent the passage of laws and regulations that would interfere with the collecting, buying and selling of coins and paper money.

The Medal of Merit Award recognizes individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the Association and promotion of the hobby.

  • Don Bonser, ANA life member and longtime Summer Seminar instructor, began his numismatic career as an intern at the ANA headquarters in Colorado Springs. He went on to spend five years as a coin grader and authenticator for the ANA Certification Service (ANACS).
  • Mitch Ernst serves as Nebraska’s ANA district representative. He has been an elected Central States Numismatic Society (CSNS) governor since 2011, and in 2013 was the ANA Young Numismatists Committee Chair.
2016 ANA Dealer of the Year Award winner David Sundman. Photo courtesy Littleton Coin Company and the American Numismatic Association
2016 ANA Dealer of the Year Award winner David Sundman

The Glenn Smedley Memorial Award recognizes individuals who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA.

  • Bryce Doxzon of Baltimore, Maryland, is one of the state’s key figures in numismatics. He has served the ANA at both the local and national level, including volunteering as exhibit chair at the World’s Fair of Money.
  • Kay Edgerton Lenker has given her time and talent to the ANA and other numismatic organizations. During decades of devotion, she has worn many hats, including committee chair, exhibit judge, president, treasurer, secretary, benefactor and exhibitor.
  • Steven R. Roach is a familiar face in the coin community and has won numerous honors. This year he was appointed to the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC), an 11-member group that advises the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury on themes and design proposals for circulating and commemorative coins and medals.
  • Peter C. Smith of Minneapolis, Minnesota, is an expert on Early American coppers and numismatic literature. He has been active in numismatics on a grass-roots level, supporting local clubs and working to change taxation laws affecting collectibles.
  • Gerome Walton has worked behind-the-scenes at the ANA for decades, serving as treasurer and assistant treasurer. Walton was executive director of the ANA Lewis M. Reagan Memorial Foundation for 24 years. Walton is also a former Summer Seminar instructor and current volunteer.

Recognizing Membership Efforts

The John and Nancy Wilson Member Booster Award is a new award named in honor of the dedicated membership sponsors who have worked tirelessly on behalf of the Association and hobby.

  • Jeff Swindling, who sponsored 64 new members, is the first recipient of the John and Nancy Wilson Member Booster Award.

This year’s Dealer Booster Award recipient is David Sundman, president of Littleton Coin Company, who garnered 128 new ANA members.

The Century Club Award honors for ANA members who sponsor 100 new members for the Association. The newest member of the Century Club is Sandy Hill, who sponsored a total of 124 new members for the Association.

American Silver Eagles Currently Available on eBay


American Numismatic Association
American Numismatic Associationhttps://www.money.org
The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs, to include its museum, library, publications, conventions and webinars.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Park Avenue Numismatics Gold and Silver Bullion

Bullion Sharks Gold

Blanchard and Company Gold and Precious Metals