Stacks Bowers is buying and selling all rare coins and currency

HomeClubs & OrganizationsNational Money Show Host Cities, More Discussed at ANA Board Meeting

National Money Show Host Cities, More Discussed at ANA Board Meeting


Site selection for the 2018 and 2019 National Money Shows was the major topic of discussion by the American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) newly inducted Board of Governors at its regular meeting on Saturday, August 15, at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money held at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center.

Potential host cities for the 2018 and 2019 National Money Shows – traditionally held in March and smaller than the World’s Fair of Money events – include Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Charleston, South Carolina. After much discussion about ease of airport access, community amenities and strength of the region’s collector base, the board agreed to delay choosing the convention sites until October.

According to ANA Convention Director Rhonda Scurek, the smaller size of the National Money Show prohibits the show from being considered by many convention venues. Scurek explained that cities look for a combination of hotel room nights and food/beverage commitments, along with convention space requirements, before determining whether to bid on an event. The National Money Show does not generate enough revenue for many potential host cities to lock-in use of their convention center facilities outside of an 18-month booking window. The result is a narrowing pool of cities willing to host the National Money Show at a convention center.

New ANA Board President Jeff Garrett expressed his interest in the viability of the National Money Show and the financial impact for the Association. He noted the difficulties in obtaining commitments from potential host cities to provide convention space, and offered that the ANA may need to reduce the size of the show to fit into hotel meeting spaces, or evaluate the possibility of eliminating the National Money Show.

Final meeting of the 2013-2015 ANA Board of Governors

The final meeting of the 2013-2015 ANA Board of Governors under the leadership of President Walt Ostromecki was held on Friday, August 14, 2015.

At the request of former ANA President and Executive Director Ken Hallenbeck, the board discussed Germany’s proposed Cultural Property Protection Act that would restrict the ability of numismatic enthusiasts to collect coins and related items. The proposed law would prohibit the import, export and sale of any items deemed “national treasures possessing artistic, historic or archaeological value” as defined by UNESCO Member States or EU States, and places the burden of proof of legal ownership on owners and dealers.

The board passed a resolution in support of Ursula Kampmann’s work with the Federal Numismatic Commission in Germany and was informed of ICTA (Industry Council on Tangible Assets) work on 120 of the 1,000 bills impacting numismatics in the U.S.

In other business, the 2013-2015 ANA Board of Governors and outgoing President Ostromecki:

  • Recognized the service of Sam Ernst as the Young Numismatist Intern to the ANA Board of Governors by presenting him with a plaque and Presidential Award. As YN Board Intern, Ernst spent six months as an ex-officio member of the board to represent issues pertinent to younger collectors.
  • Accepted into the minutes a resolution presented by John Wilson, chair of the Resolution Committee, expressing appreciation to all the individuals and organizations involved with the 2015 Rosemont/Chicago World’s Fair of Money.
  • Approved sponsorships for the World’s Fair of Money totaling $46,864 from Royal Canadian Mint, Anthony and Mary Ann Terranova, Coin World and Legend Numismatics.
  • Heard a report from ANA Treasurer Gerome Walton advising that the ANA budget is balanced and the organization is operating with a small surplus to date. Greg Lyon, Budget and Finance Committee chair, noted that ANA’s net worth had increased $2.7 million from 2013 to 2014.
  • Accepted a presentation check from ANA Treasurer Gerome Walton from the Colorado Springs, Colo., chapter of the Modern Woodmen of America for approximately $163,000, which is earmarked for the ANA College Scholarship Fund.
  • Approved FUN (Florida United Numismatists) as the 2017 National Money Show host club and Cindy Wibker as the host chair.
  • Heard and accepted into the record a number of committee reports and updates. ANA Vice President Jeff Garrett shared that online archived digital versions of The Numismatist are scheduled to go live by the end of the year.
  • Expressed appreciation to Chester Krause of Iola, Wis., for a $5,000 donation to fund a new online grading game for the ANA’s website,
  • Heard from ANA General Counsel Hollie Wieland that there are no litigation issues involving the ANA at this time.
  • Received an update from ANA Executive Director Kim Kiick on the first online YN auction, which will be live on on Sept 19; the first expanded article from The Numismatist that is now online on; strategic plan updates; and expanding member outreach through the ANA’s website.
  • During the public open comment period, Robert Korver inquired whether the ANA intends to digitize its collection of rare books. He suggested the potential for dealers to subsidize the effort with advertising in the digital versions.

New officers and committee chairs appointed

In other business of the new 2015-2017 ANA Board of Governors, President Garrett announced the appointment of corporate and special officers of the Association: Hollie Wieland, General Counsel; Gerome Walton, Treasurer; Sanford Pearl, Secretary; Mark Lighterman, Parliamentarian; Terry Carver and Ken Hallenbeck, Assistant Treasurers; David Sklow, Historian; Richard Jozefiak, National Coordinator; Joe Boling, Chief Judge; Mark Lighterman, National Exhibit Coordinator; Maxwell Gregory, YN Board Intern; and Lewis King, Counselor to the President.

President Garrett also announced a number of committees and designated chairs to lead those committees: Advisory Council Chair Tom Hallenbeck, Budget and Finance Chair Greg Lyon, Bylaws and Ethics Chair Doug Andrews, Consumer Affairs Chair Barry Stuppler, Convention Chair Larry Gaye, Dealer Relations Chair Charmy Harker, Development Chair Steve Ellsworth, Education and YN Chair Brian Fanton, Exhibits Chair Halbert Carmichael, Information Technology Chair James Reinders, Internet Content Chair Russell Augustin, Investment Chair Steve Ivy, Library and Publications Chair W. David Perkins, Marketing and Social Media Chair John Maben, Museum Chair David Heinrich, and Resolutions Co-chairs John and Nancy Wilson.

Appointments to the Audit Committee include Greg Lyon, Gary Adkins, Ron Guth, Wendell Wolka and ANA Treasurer Gerome Walton.

American Numismatic Association
American Numismatic Association
The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs, to include its museum, library, publications, conventions and webinars.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PCGS Set Registry

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

NGCX Holders and Grading