Stacks Bowers Long Beach Expo Auction

HomeUS CoinsU.S. Mint Launches Saratoga National Historical Park Quarter

U.S. Mint Launches Saratoga National Historical Park Quarter


The United States Mint joined the National Park Service today to launch the Saratoga National Historical Park Quarter.

The quarter’s reverse depicts a close-up of the moment British General John Burgoyne surrendered his sword to American General Horatio Gates, a turning point many believe marked the ‘beginning of the end of the American Revolutionary War.’ Inscriptions are “BRITISH SURRENDER 1777,” “SARATOGA,” “NEW YORK,” “2015,” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”

“This new coin honors the patriots who fought so bravely to defend our fledgling nation and whose victory forever changed the face of the world,” said Mint Acting Quality Manager Ron Harrigal.

Hundreds of schoolchildren were on hand, with several of them participating in the ceremony which was live-streamed to the public. Additional event participants included Mint Artistic Infusion Program artist Barbara Fox, designer of the coin’s reverse; Saratoga National Historical Park Superintendent Amy Bracewell; Park Ranger and Historian Eric Schnitzer; and Matt Scollin, regional director for U.S. Representative Elise Stefanik.

Event attendees were among the first in the Nation to get newly minted Saratoga National Historical Park quarters during the coin exchange held after the ceremony. Collectible bags and rolls of circulating quality Saratoga National Historical Park quarters will be available for purchase from the Mint starting on November 30 at noon Eastern Time at and 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468). Hearing- and speech-impaired customers with TTY equipment may order by calling 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

The Saratoga National Historical Park quarter is the 30th release in the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program, a 12-year initiative to honor 56 national parks and other national sites authorized by Public Law 110-456. Each year, the public will see five new national sites depicted on the reverse of the America the Beautiful Quarters coins. The Mint is issuing these coins in the order in which the sites were officially established.

About the United States Mint

usmintThe United States Mint was created by Congress in 1792 and became part of the Department of the Treasury in 1873. It is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The United States Mint’s numismatic programs are self-sustaining and operate at no cost to taxpayers.

United States Mint
United States Mint
Since Congress created the United States Mint on April 2, 1792, the primary mission of the Mint is to produce an adequate volume of circulating coinage for the nation. As a self-funded agency, the United States Mint turns revenues beyond its operating expenses over to the General Fund of the Treasury. Other responsibilities include: Maintaining physical custody and protection of the Nation's $100 billion of U.S. gold and silver assets; Manufacturing and selling platinum, gold, and silver bullion coins; and Overseeing production facilities in Denver, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and West Point, as well as the U.S. Bullion Depository at Fort Knox, Kentucky.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stacks Bowers Auction

L and C COIN Shop Now

NGCX Holders and Grading