Three New Commemorative Coins from Hungary Released

Three new commemorative coins from Hungary highlight National Bank, influential composer, and famous architect…

The three commemorative coins announced recently by the National Bank of Hungary are the inaugural representatives of its new issuing policy in which each 10,000 forint proof silver coin is joined by a copper-nickel 2,000 uncirculated version with an identical design.

The coins continue the Hungarian policy of focusing on events and anniversaries significant to Hungarian history, culture and achievements.

nationalbank1The first coin is for the 90th Anniversary of the Foundation of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary).

The obverse has a motif suggesting the shares issued in 1924, alluding to the bank’s foundation. The reverse depicts the façade of the bank’s main building on Szabadság tér in central Pest, which is still the Bank’s headquarters today. The National Bank is the owner of the Hungarian Mint.

The other two coins salute bicentennial birthdays – of the architect Miklos Ybl and the composer, actor, and librettist Béni Egressy. The one dedicated to Ybl shows the church be built in Fót, that is widely seen as one of the prime works of Hungarian Romantic architecture. Its other side has Ybl’s portrait and signature.


The obverse of the Egressy collector coin shows the notes to the first line of the “Szózat” (poem of Mihály Vörösmarty) which became a symbolic work and Hungary’s so called second national anthem. The portrait of Egressy is shown on the reverse.

The 10,000 forint .925 (sterling) silver coins weigh 24 grams and are 37 mm (1.45 inches) in diameter. The mintage was set at 5,000 for each piece.

The 2,000 forints, also 37 mm, are made of 23.7 grams of a 75% copper-25% nickel alloy. They also have a mintage limit of 5,000.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.