Legend Numismatics

HomeShows & ConventionsWorld's Fair of Money Photo Diary

World’s Fair of Money Photo Diary

By Charles Morgan for CoinWeek …..
One man, one week, one camera, and the largest numismatic convention of the year.

This is what happens: An ANA World’s Fair of Money Photo Diary.

Here are just a few of the moments I captured with my camera as I walked the bourse and took in the many educational and entertaining events held by the American Numismatic Association (ANA) and the Numismatic Literary Guild (NLG) at the year’s most exciting numismatic event.

 August 5

Day one of the ANA World’s Fair of Money began long before the speeches and ceremonial ribbon cutting, as a crowd of over 1,000 people had formed to buy the Kennedy Gold Proof.


ANA President Walter Ostromecki, Jr. gives the opening remarks in front of an excited crowd at the World’s Fair of Money on Tuesday, August 5.



Royal Canadian Numismatic Association Past President Bill Waychison gives his opening remarks. The RCNA and ANA teamed up to help promote both organization’s shows this year.



ANA Governors: Laura Sperber (bottom left) and Gary Adkins, ANA Vice President Jeff Garrett (center), Governor Dr. Ralph Ross and Mike Ellis (bottom right). Standing: Royal Canadian Numismatic Association Area Director Brett Irick (left) and ANA Governor Jeff Swindling (right).



ANA Executive Director Kim Kiick is joined by RCNA Past President Bill Waychison, Honorary Chairman William Cross and ANA President Walter Ostromecki, Jr. for the official ribbon cutting at the 2014 World’s Fair of Money.


August 6


The star of the ANA World’s Fair of Money: The 2014 Kennedy Half Dollar Gold Proof. Prices for the coin reached the stratosphere, however, the Mint is your best bet as the coin continues to sell at the issue price of $1,240 + shipping and handling.



Coming later this year, the reverse proof Kennedy half dollar, struck at West Point. Photo taken at the U.S. Mint’s booth.



Switching gears, the Japan Mint was on hand with a humble display. They did show off some absolutely beautiful pieces, such as this gold medal with an intricately design embellished in rich jewel tones.



David Lisot and I spent much of our time at the show recording seminars and events. I was fortunate enough to catch up with my friend Bill Hyder, who continues to sport a most exceptional beard!


August 7


Dealer Larry Schuffman sat down with me to discuss his love for collecting World War I and World War II Liberty bonds.



NLG Awards Director and author Scott Travers prepares for the NLG Bash.



PCGS’ David Hall at the NLG Bash. Maurice Rosen is seated in the foreground.



At the NLG Bash, CoinWeek’s David Lisot films the proceedings.



Coin World writer Paul Gilkes, camera in tow, sits next to author Bob Campbell.



Mike Fuljenz and David Lisot share the stage at the NLG Bash. The two men won an award for their video production “More Advice for Coin Collectors”.



Fuljenz’ annual tradition of winning NLG awards was complimented by another annual tradition, a birthday celebration. Happy 60th Mike.



CoinWeek’s David Lisot basks in the glow of victory. NLG Awards Banquet victory. Lisot won two individual awards for video production.



NLG Executive Director Ed Reiter reads prepared remarks after being honored with the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award.



Numismatic author David T. Alexander presents CoinWeek writer Greg Reynolds with a NLG Award for Best Web Site Coin Article.



David Lisot shot this photograph of me (Charles Morgan) accepting an NLG award for Hubert Walker and my piece “Spotlight on So-Called Dollars”.

August 9


John and Nancy Wilson presented ANA Banquet guests with this elongated coin (in this instance a 1973-D nickel).



Dan Gosling, Librarian and Editor of the Royal Canadian Numismatic Society’s CN Journal and his lovely wife take in the sights at the 2014 ANA Banquet.



Legendary cherry picker and 1995 Farran Zerbe Award winner Bill Fivaz at the ANA Banquet.



ANA Past President John and his wife and fellow Farran Zerbe Award Winner Nancy Optiz Wilson at the ANA Banquet.




Florida United Numismatist (FUN) Director and Convention Coordinator Cindy Wibker and FUN Vice President Bob Hurst at the ANA Banquet.



ANA Governor Dr. Ralph Ross and his wife, Judge Phyllis A. Ross, at the ANA Banquet.



Neil Schafer and ANA President Walt Ostromecki, Jr. at the ANA Banquet.



ANA President Walter Ostromecki, Jr. with numismatist Jack Nyburg. Bonus points for you if you can name the coin pinned to Jack’s shirt.



Coin World editor Steve Roach speaks with Oded Paz at the ANA Banquet.




Charmy Harker is presented the People’s Choice Award by ANA President Walter Ostromecki, Jr. for her Exhibit at the World’s Fair of Money. This year’s field of exhibits was excellent.



Chief Exhibit Judge Colonel Joe Boling (left) and ANA President Walter Ostromecki, Jr. (right) present Mack Martin with the Howland Wood Best of Show Award for his exhibit at the World’s Fair of Money. The colonel has a smudge of red lipstick on his cheek, which was planted their by the aforementioned Charmy Harker.



Numismatic News editor David Harper takes notes at the ANA Banquet. Seated behind him is Industry Council for Tangible Assets (ICTA) Executive Director Kathy McFadden.

Bill Fivaz accepts a 50-Year Club Member Award on behalf of the Metropolitan Coin Club of Atlanta, Georgia.



Nancy Optiz Wilson accepts a 50-Year Club Member Award on behalf of the Ocala Coin Club of Ocala, Florida.



Gary Moran accepts a 50-Year Club Member Award on behalf of the Fostoria Coin Club of Fostoria, Ohio.



The Western Pennsylvania Numismatic Society is recognized for its 100th Year of Membership in the ANA.



From Left to Right: Jeff Garrett, Ron Guth, and Walt Ostromecki, Jr. Garret and Ostromecki present Ron Guth with the ANA’s Numismatist of the Year Award.



A full crowd watches the award presentations at the ANA Banquet. In foreground, V. Kurt Bellman takes photographs of the award winners. Bellman’s family brought the one-hour photo business to the United States from Switzerland.



Mike Fuljenz and Walter Ostromecki, Jr. present Neil Shafer with the ANA’s prestigious Farran Zerbe Memorial Award.



ANA President Walt Ostromecki, Jr. presents Gene Hessler with the ANA’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Charles Morgan
Charles Morgan
Charles Morgan is an award-winning numismatic author and the editor and publisher of CoinWeek.com. Along with co-author Hubert Walker, he has written for CoinWeek since 2012, as well as the "Market Whimsy" column for The Numismatist and the book 100 Greatest Modern World Coins (2020) for Whitman Publishing. From 2021-2023, Charles served as Governor of the American Numismatic Association (ANA), where he was bestowed the Glenn Smedley Award. Charles is a member of numerous numismatic organizations, including the American Numismatic Society (ANS) and the Numismatic Literary Guild (NLG).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bullion Sharks Silver

AU Capital Management US gold Coins

David Lawrence Rare Coins Auctions